PM Modi to give awards to India-Singapore Hackathon winners

During his official visit to Singapore on 31 May-02 June 2018,  Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed to Prime Minister of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong that India and Singapore should organise a Joint Hackathon to harness and showcase the innovation potential of the two countries’ youth.

The proposal was welcomed by PM Lee. The Singapore side designated Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and its innovation and enterprise arm – NTUitive  – to conduct the Hackathon. The Indian side designated All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) to conduct the Hackathon. The High Commission of India in Singapore facilitated the event in collaboration with the Ministries of Education and Foreign Affairs of Singapore.

Twenty teams each from both countries comprising university and college students selected on a nationwide basis are participating in the Hackathon. Each of these teams has three students and  obe dedicated mentor. From India, an 83 member delegation comprising 60 students, 20 mentors and 3 officials of AICTE is visiting Singapore for the Hackathon.

The 36-hour hackathon began at 9am on November 12 at NTU and will end on November 13 at 9pm. On 14 November, the top 6 teams (3 each from India and Singapore) will be announced after a final pitching session. First prize of S$10,000, second prize of S$6,000 and third prize of S$4,000 have been announced for each of the three winners from India and Singapore.

The Problems Statements presented to the participants are in the areas of mapping, synchronised output of diverse social media, shared digital identity verification, effective number estimate, space management and allotment, effective learning and personal security. These Problem Statements are based on campus scenarios which students can easily relate to. The solutions will act as seeds to address larger problems in these areas in society.

PM Modi will present the awards to the winning teams on 15 November. Education Minister of Singapore Ong Ye Kung will be present at the Award Ceremony.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top